‘Avidity towards study eventually compelled Abdul Jabbar Bugti to commit suicide. Translated by: Gohar Bugti

Posted on

jabarToday I am going to describe most sad story I have ever shared. Abdul Jabbar S/O Wahid Marettar, a 13 years old student of grade 7 resident of Bugra colony Sui area of Dera Bugti district,  committed suicide on Eid day, about 2:PM of 6th. Oct, 2014.

When I heard this bad news I ran to one of my friends Jamsher Bugti home to attend the funeral of Jabbar. I asked his father what really happened to Jabbar when most of the people returned to their homes.

The old man explained in detail that he has 6 sons and 4 daughters, “my elder son is married having 4 children, he is a private school teacher with monthly income of 4000 rupees, second son is also married, he has three children next comes Mukhtiar elder than Jabbar. A month ago i hardly manage to give him admission in one of the schools of Rahim Yar Khan, Panjab” he added.

Mukhtiar came to Sui on Eid holidays seeing him Jabbar also insisted to send him too with Mukhtiar for continuation of studies but poor Wahid Bakhsh tried his level best to convince his son that “my child we are very poor already under the heavy burden of loan we couldn’t even afford a goat or sheep to fulfill the obligation of Eid-Ul-Azha I can’t afford to the educational expenses of two children out of town but all in vain. I don’t know what came in the mind of my child he went in room and managed himself on box  with the help of rope he committed suicide” he said.

This grief will remain as a chip on my shoulder to the rest of my life that my son put an end to his life. While telling the story tears were rolling down on the cheeks of Jabbar Bugti’s father.The question is left behind, who is the responsible for death of innocent Baloch boy?

